Orange Word Family Trees

This is a great idea, that my friend Jamilah came up with for her class. Making a tree and putting the name of the word family on the trunk ( in her case she made apples, we made oranges) Then we made different words fitting each family and had the boys place the word on the right word family tree. We mixed up the words too as Jamilah recommended.

This is a great literacy game that we had to try as soon as we saw it.

The boys loved the idea of putting oranges on their orange tree.

I think this is a good way to teach and remember word families.

We made sentences using the words, practice spelling them and placed on the tree, showing why which word went to a specific family because of the last two words

We did the following word families:

it

at

ig

And now that we got that concept a bit better we move on to other ones such as ake! Cake Bake Make

One Comment to “Orange Word Family Trees”

  1. What a cute idea. How funny that I read this about the orange tree’s when my daughter put oranges on her tree when she was coloring today. I am always on the look out for great ideas to use. I had such a hard time teaching my son to read I am scared to teach my daughter. I really like this idea. Thanks for sharing. Love the bee too!

    Lil’ Momma
    Living with a hard working husband, 1 toddler, 1 preschooler and 1 middle schooler who are Five in Training for HIM

Leave a Reply

